Quietly Creating Loyal Brand Ambassadors

Recently, a former co-worker invited me to receive a “free” facial and in-home cosmetics trial with products from her direct sale cosmetics line. I like this coworker and have given her a lot of business in the past, but my immediate response to her latest offer was no way, I’m a Philosophy girl. Wow, did I really just say that? At that moment, the true definition of a brand ambassador hit me square between the eyes because somewhere along the way, hard-nosed, eagle eye Terilyn had unwittingly become one! Philosophy is the skincare line I fell in love with a few years ago while watching an infomercial on late night television. The question that plagued me was how had I become so loyal to this particular brand that I would pass on a free facial and a visit from an old friend? Here are a few of my insights:
The company told a relatable and inspiring story. The storyteller, who happened to be the company founder, wasn’t selling that night. Instead she simply told an inspiring and relatable story about being a working mom who struggled to find time to properly care for herself. She also seemed honest and sincere about offering a high quality product. She was convincing without giving an overt sales pitch and that piqued my interest and planted seeds of trust.
The company acknowledged and actively sought the attention of potential customers. Many skincare and cosmetics companies either ignore or forget about women with dark skin. It was refreshing to see beautiful models with a wide range of skin tones showcasing the products. This inclusion spoke of the company’s appreciation of diversity. This caught and kept my attention because I appreciated being represented as a beautiful consumer instead of an obvious afterthought or not at all.
They actively sought ways to accommodate their customers before, during and after the purchase. There are no hoops that I have to jump through to purchase the product. Things like auto delivery, full money back guarantees, immediate customer response through social media and telephone eliminate the likelihood that I will even think about buying skincare products anywhere else.
Finally, they have a solid product with outstanding customer service. I took a chance purchasing skincare products from an infomercial, but it ended up being a good risk. I like the product and have shared it with family and friends who have also come to love it as much as I do. Nothing takes the place of an outstanding product that is combined with amazing customer service. People want to patronize a business that has that winning combination.
All of these steps can be adopted by any businesses large or small. It just takes creativity and an open mind. Consistently incorporate these steps into an active social media marketing strategy and you just might be amazed by the number of loyal followers who start singing your praises!

Leave a Reply

